S/NO NAME   DEPT. RANK  Telephone/ E-mail
1 Dr. Ezi Akaji Preventive Lect I 7069795650 ezi.akaji@unn.edu.ng
2 Dr. Ndiokwelu Etisiobi Mark Preventive Prof. 8033731278 etisiobi.ndiokwelu@unn.edu.ng
3 Dr. Sam Maduakor Preventive Lect. I 7039369907 sam.maduakor@unn.edu.ng
4 Dr. Nkoli Pamela Uguru Preventive Lect. I 8037270308 nkoli.ugur@unn.edu.ng
5 Dr. Morrison Amaeshi Preventive Visiting Snr Lect 8033161006 morrison.ameshi@unn.edu.ng
6 Okolo Ijeoma N. Preventive S. E. O 8064770544 ijeoma.okolo@unn.edu.ng
7 Kanu Zak Afam Preventive H/Lab Attence 8063962344 zak.kanu@unn.edu.ng

The Faculty of Dentistry as it is today, went through a chequered path to arrive at the present day Destination: It was hatched by the College of Medicine under the provost ship of Late Prof. D.C Nwafor: Prof D.C. Nwafor a renowned surgeon naturally, placed the baby (Dentistry) under surgery Department. From inception in 1982 till about 1988 Dentistry later became a school under the Faculty of Medical Sciences and Dentistry. Prof D.C. Nwafor’s efforts and foresight have never been matched. His effort to create the Faculty of Dentistry was thwarted in favor of Faculty of Health Sciences and Technology. Prof F. Udeh was the first Head of the Baby Dentistry. With the recruitment of Dental Staff viz Dr M Amaeshi, Dr Sam Maduakor and then Dr E.M Ndiokwelu and visiting Professor L. Nwoku and Dr Kulasekara. The baby was baptized a school to be Headed by a College Dean in 1989. Then Dr E.M. Ndiokwelu, a Community Dentist became the first College Dean. Dr. E. Amaeshi by 1989 transferred his services to Federal School of Dental Technology and Therapy. Dr Sam Maduakor (the first permanent staff) and Dr Ndiokwelu administered the recognized existing two Departments – Maxillofacial and Preventive. Dr Nagarandra and Dr .C. Oji were recruited in 1990. The Pioneer students which included Dr Okoye-Uzu, Dr Mgbeokwere, Dr Iwuagwu, Dr Esochi and four others were sent to Benin University School of Dentistry for courses in Restorative Dentistry, Paedodontics, Orthodontics whereas Dr Sam Maduakor taught Oral Biology (with the assistance of then Dr Miss Ezeilo and Ogbuneke), Oral Pathology and Oral and Maxillofacial surgery and conducted the clinics and surgeries then Dr Ndiokwelu taught the courses in preventive Dentistry. Dr Kulasekara a visiting Reader taught periodontology. Chief Ezeasor effective covered the laboratory courses. The first Graduates were turned out in 1990, the Second in 1991 and third in 1992. The Period spanning from 1992 to 2000 witnessed stunted growth for Dentistry. Frauds and intrigues held sway. The existing undergraduates were farmed out to Medicine. The school of dentistry was virtually administered by powerful medical colleagues who called the shots. With the encouragement of prof Obiechina of university of Ibadan and keen interest of Prof Ozumba as provost and understanding of vice- chancellor, Prof Nebo the faculty of Dentistry came to be. Students were re-admitted, lecturers were recruited.
Today, the faculty of dentistry can boast of retinue of all cadres of staff, (academic administrative and technological) an imposing faculty building ready for occupation was made available courtesy of first bank limited four department are now flourishing while more are expected. Bee-hive of activities–tutorial, clinical and research are on. Dentistry can now boast of a professor by name Etisiobi. M. Ndiokwelu the second permanent staff of Dentistry and the pioneer college Dean. The future of Dentistry albeit, Department of preventive Dentistry is promising.

The mission of the Department of preventive Dentistry is contribute to the growth and advancement of Dentistry by tutorials, instructions research and clinical delivery and remain a-par with international contemporary practices.
1. Grooming of competent practitioners at all levels through teaching, instructions and supervisions.
2. Impact on the society through high class clinical services and health education.
3. Advance the art of Dentistry by researches and publications.
4. Collaborate with allied medical department for the wholistic advancement of Medicare.
Scope of the Department
The Preventive Dentistry Department comprises 3 sub-units
- Periodontology
- Community Dentistry
Dental Medicine
2) Pattern of growth from inception till date
As stated in the History
3) The curriculum of the Department documenting any recent changes?
- As documented in the Faculty of Dentistry curriculum
4) Academic Regulation of your department
As documented in the faculty of Dentistry Regulations
5) Departmental Grants / on-going Researches.
- Determinants of Health amongst Health workers.
- Tooth mortality and oral Health problems in UNTH
- Comparative analysis of Dental and Periodontal needs in institutionalized and
Non-institutionalized control group.
- Access and Utilization of routine Dental services among different
Socio-economic groups in Enugu state.

Past and Present Heads of The Department




Dr. Etisiobi Ndiokwelu


1989  -  2007

Dr. E.A. Akaji

BDS, 1991,Lagos, FWACS, 2006 (WAPMC)

2007  -  2008

Dr. Etisiobi Ndiokwelu


2008  -  2009

Dr.  Maduakor Sam .N


2009  -  2010

Dr. Akaji Ezi. A


2010  -  2011

Dr. (Mrs) Uguru Nkolika.P


2011  -  2012

Dr (Mrs) Akaji Ezi.A


2012 till date