S/N

           N A M E

       R A N K

PHONE NO.

E- MAIL/ADDRESS

DEPARTMENT

1

Ugwoke, Benjamin U.

Senior Librarian

+2348030999537

benugwoke@yahoo.com

Medical Library

2

Ohaji, Isaac K.

Senior Librarian

08068178121

isaac.ohaji@unn.edu.ng

          

3

Uzoagba, Ngozi C.

Librarian I

08036750044

ngozi_uzoagba@yahoo.com

          

4

Elekwachi, Michael I.

 

 

Senior Supervisor

08067100533

michael.elekwachi@unn.edu.ng

          

 

5

Omagbu, Evelyn C.

Principal Typist

08067683018

evelyn.omagbu@unn.edu.ng

          

6

Ndibuagu, Justina O.

Chief Lib. Assistant

07067052594

justina.ndibuagu@unn.edu.ng

          

7

Ezekwu, Dorathy I.

Chief Lib. Assistant

08039663265

dorathy.ezekwu@unn.edu.ng

          

8

Ochonma, Charity A.

Asst. Chief Lib. Asst.

07069795270

charity.ochonma@unn.edu.ng

          

9

Ezeagu, Gloria C.

Senior Lib. Assistant

08038105430

gloria.ezeagu@unn.edu.ng

          

10

Onwuasoanya Elizabeth A.

Chief Porter

08032643659

lizzy_2007 4 u@yahoo.co.uk

          

11

Chukwu, Chinyere B.

Library Assistant

08038021113

chinyere.chukwu@unn.edu.ng

          

 12

Ugwu, Ifeanyi C.

Chief Lib. Attendant

08133472828

ifeanyi.ugwu@unn.edu.ng

          

13

Mba, Florence  N.

Senior C/Messenger

07069559591

florence.mba@unn.edu.ng

          

14

Jideofor, Benedeth U.

Head C/Messenger

08038024531

benedeh.jideofor@unn.edu.ng

          

15

Nji, Justina C.

Head C/Messenger

08057595144

justina.nji@unn.edu.ng

          

 

1

I C T STAFF

Eze, Edwin Ikechukwu

Senior Computer Technologist

08037791221

princeddyeze@yahoo.com.edwin.

eze@unn.edu.ng

          

HISTORY
The Faculty of Medicine was established in 1967. It was that year that the University Library placed orders to the first batch of books for the new Faculty. Much of this early stock were subsequently lost in the Nigerian Civil War (1967 – 1970). When the Faculty reassembled in 1970, the few surviving medical titles were transferred to a basement room at Enugu Campus. This room became the “Medical Library” and new materials including back sets of journals, were acquired through donations from American library institutions. The Rockefeller Foundation also helped with the initial fund to acquire basic texts.

In 1970 a new and present building capable of holding over 30,000 volumes with sitting accommodation for 350 readers was started and completed in 1976. The Library moved into it the same year.
In the year 2000 the first major renovation of the Library building was done by His Excellency the Governor of Enugu State Dr. Chimaroke Nnamani. He also donated six (6) new computers, the accessories and some audio-visual equipment to the Library. The Library, now named after his uncle, is called Augustine Nnamani Library of Medicine and the Arts.

In 2002 Kolade Foundation (CKF) Lagos also donated four (4) new computers and the accessories. All the computers are connected to the Internet and they form the basis of the present internet facility in the Library. The Federal Government Education Trust Fund (ETF) later donated thirty (30) computers and their accessories. These were connected to Internet through a V-SAT. So the Library offers Internet/E-mail services and has a sub-station in the College building for use of faculty staff.

The library is organized to include lending, reference and bibliographic services in addition to photocopying and audio-visual services. The readership has widened to include clinical students, faculty staff, students of radiology, nursing, medical laboratory sciences and medical rehabilitation of the college of medicine, nurses, clinical and other senior administrative staff of University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, students of UNTH.

STOCK:
The Library now has a stock of about 18,281 books and mimeographs and 17690 bound journals. We receive foreign and local current journals on different aspects of medical and health sciences.

In November, 2003 Professor Alexander Borrofka, a well known German Psychiatrist also donated all his personal Library collection on Psychiatry to the Library, and a collection on pathology donated by late Dr. Okechukwu Ikejiani.

The Library has a staff publications collection. This embraces all publications (books, journals, articles, abstracts etc) by faculty staff of the College of Medicine.

HOURS OF OPENING:
Monday - Friday - 8.00 am – 10: 00pm
Saturdays: - - 8.00 am – 8: 00 pm

Events